Recording piano with a Zoom H4

I’ve had a Zoom H4 for about a year and a half now, I think. Best thing I ever bought. Along with all of the other best things I ever bought, such as an ipod, a Nord Electro, a Mondeo ST24, a Fender Rhodes… Anyway, it’s up there. Brilliant for recording gigs. Excellent in every way.

Except perhaps for recording my (upright Yamaha) piano at home. I’ve just spent the afternoon trying to find the perfect location but found nothing of the sort – here too boxy, there too much pedal noise, here too tinny, there too muffled. And every time, I’m afraid (as I don’t have a long enough USB lead), another round of transferring files. Does anyone have the secret? Could they possibly share it?

I will soldier on, naturally. It must be possible, and when it is, it will be killing.

~ by tomcawley on September 2, 2008.

One Response to “Recording piano with a Zoom H4”

  1. If you are looking for a portable audio recorder the Zoom H4 is a choice for cheap price and good quality.Try to read articles from people who used it appropriate to use or just to your satisfaction as. visit (http://zoomh4handyrecorder.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

 
